Page 2 of 7

Posted: Sat May 30, 2009 4:17 pm
by Gemini
Quasar wrote:"Show only books, where location is <....>" - doesn't work. When I click on it - nothing happens.

It's strange, In the latest version it works all right.
If it doesn't work in the latest version, then please tell how Locations are called - perhaps, some special symbol there prevents it from working properly...

Posted: Sat May 30, 2009 8:45 pm
by Quasar
Gemini wrote:
Quasar wrote:"Show only books, where location is <....>" - doesn't work. When I click on it - nothing happens.
It's strange, In the latest version it works all right.
If it doesn't work in the latest version, then please tell how Locations are called - perhaps, some special symbol there prevents it from working properly...

I've got commas in it (locations look so: "<text>, <text>, <text>"). Probably that is the problem?

Posted: Sun May 31, 2009 7:40 am
by Gemini
Quasar wrote:I've got commas in it (locations look so: "<text>, <text>, <text>"). Probably that is the problem?

We wouldn't recommend to use brackets <> in any fields - at displaying the program will consider them unknown HTML-tags and ignore them (without displaying).

Posted: Sun May 31, 2009 8:35 am
by Quasar
Gemini wrote:
Quasar wrote:I've got commas in it (locations look so: "<text>, <text>, <text>"). Probably that is the problem?
We wouldn't recommend to use brackets <> in any fields - at displaying the program will consider them unknown HTML-tags and ignore them (without displaying).

He-he))) I said it wrong. I wrote these brackets (<>) only to show, that I have 3 text expressions, seperated by commas.
So, I have such format of locaton:
text1, text2, text3

For example:
box1, shelf 1, right site

I think, the problem is only because of commas. When I move mouse on the place, where location field is, then only one part (for example, shelf 1) is underlined and in the drop-menu the item is "Show only books, where locations is "shelf 1"". But there is not of course such location.

Posted: Sun May 31, 2009 8:49 am
by Gemini
I see))
Yes, then the reason should be caused by commas probably...

Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 5:14 am
by Quasar
It was good to add some time the abilitiy to synchronize 2 databases. Or just ability to add from one base to another base books, that are only in the first database (now I should manualy select books that you want to add).
Synchronization is of course much better...

Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 11:09 am
by Gemini
Quasar wrote:It was good to add some time the abilitiy to synchronize 2 databases. Or just ability to add from one base to another base books, that are only in the first database (now I should manualy select books that you want to add).
Synchronization is of course much better...

Hi! We'll think over implementation, thank you for the idea.

Posted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 5:16 pm
by AMVAS
Wishes are the next:
Maybe it's possible to add DLLs for support of
www.biblus.ru and www.rsl.ru databases
The first one is one of the most comprehansive database for issued Russian and Soviet books

Among the disadvantages of the program is cutting titles of found books when a list of possible titles is given. Sometimes it's hard to estimate what book to choose from this list having seen only a part of title

regards
Alex

Posted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 6:07 pm
by Gemini
AMVAS wrote:
Maybe it's possible to add DLLs for support of
www.biblus.ru and www.rsl.ru databases
The first one is one of the most comprehansive database for issued Russian and Soviet books
Hi, Alex!
These plug-ins have been added to "to-do" list - developers will try to make them, but in the perspective, not sure that very soon :roll:

AMVAS wrote: Among the disadvantages of the program is cutting titles of found books when a list of possible titles is given. Sometimes it's hard to estimate what book to choose from this list having seen only a part of title

we'll try to add a scroller to the window of choosing a book from search results, it should help.

Best regards,

Posted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 6:13 pm
by AMVAS
Gemini wrote:...
we'll try to add a scroller to the window of choosing a book from search results, it should help.

Best regards,


thank you very much in any case!
Will wait for all updates!

Posted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 11:40 am
by Nynaevelan
I would like to add three requests of future enhancements:

1. add audible as one of the online sites for lookups
2. AMM has a nice feature of scheduling automatic backups, I would like to have this feature in AMB as well.
3. If possible, the ability to edit books while in Title List mode instead of having to detail to the book card.

Nyn

Posted: Sat Jul 04, 2009 6:07 pm
by Gemini
Nynaevelan wrote:I
1. add audible as one of the online sites for lookups
2. AMM has a nice feature of scheduling automatic backups, I would like to have this feature in AMB as well.
3. If possible, the ability to edit books while in Title List mode instead of having to detail to the book card.

Well, as for suggestions 1 and 2, they are in the to-do list already.
We'll also try to think over your third suggestion, though you're the first to touch upon this issue.

Posted: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:21 pm
by Nynaevelan
Gemini wrote:We'll also try to think over your third suggestion, though you're the first to touch upon this issue.


:lol: :lol: I am not surprised, I tend to veer away from the beaten path in my favorite programs. Thanks for considering my requests.

Nyn

Posted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 3:14 pm
by AMVAS
Noticed one disadvantage. Not too serious, but quite boring.
Different sources can give author's name as
1. "A.B. Smith"
2. "A. Smith"
3. "Smith A."
4. "Smith A.B."
5. "Andy Smith"

Finally if I have 5 books of this author with different notation, I will never get them sorted in proper order (by author)
Probably it would be some mechanism to distinguish surname from initials at least for cases 1-4.
Case 5 is much more hard for handling, but it's not so critical as the first ones.
Sorting authors by name I can observe initials to be treated as surnames. It's very unhandy...

Regards
Alex

Posted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 5:54 pm
by Gemini
Hi, Alex!
You can do the following: you can select all five in the Names Directory, right-click on them and choose "Merge" menu item - to unite all the variants into one.

Best regards,